In front of a very strong crowd over the March 8th thru 11th weekend at Expo Idaho, the 40th Anniversary of the O’Reilly Auto Parts Boise Roadster Show crowned quite a number of champions during the award’s ceremonies on Sunday, March 11th.

Presented by Les Schwab, the four-day Summit ISCA Championship event attracted an outstanding field of exhibitors from eight states and two Canada provinces.

The 1932 Ford Roadster of Rich and Paige Udell, Swan Lake, Mont., scored the Goldmark award, in addition to the overall Best Rod title. Painted a striking mist green, the “Timeless” roadster was also the most recent winner of Wasatch Cup at the Autorama in Salt Lake City, Utah, one week before the Boise show.

Dave Kindig from Salt Lake City, Utah, was selected for the 31st Master-Builder honoree. Kindig has been participating at the Roadster Show for better than a decade. At this year’s show, Kindig-It Design unveiled a stunning 1964 Cadillac convertible of Olympic speed skating star Apolo Anton Ohno.

Ron Maxwell, Parowan, Utah, was selected for the 14th Essence of Cool award. Gordon Phillips, Quesnel, B.C., won the “Trendsetter” title, along with the People’s Choice merit. Ron Vanee, Lethbridge, Alta., took home the special award for “The Wild One” with his supercharged `64 Corvette. Presented on behalf of Firebird Raceway, Arnie Miller, Junction City, Ore., was chosen for the Fire Rod award with his traditionally enhanced `33 Ford coupe. The `34 Ford coupe of Ron Nichols, Nampa, was hand picked for the twelfth annual Tompkins award. Earning recognition for the sixth Mighty Fine choice was the `37 Ford sedan of John Coenen, Tacoma, Wash. The Long Distance recipient was Bob Petrusha who traveled 1,800 miles from Waterford, Mich., with a `48 Ford woodie.

Other top award winners included: Robert Komlofske, Prineville, Ore., winner of Best Truck; Mac Bernd, Arlington, Tex., for Best Restored; Craig Whalen, Meridian, swept Best Bike honors; and Best overall club display was awarded to the No Limit Classics four-car display for the fourth consecutive year.

2012 Award Results

40th Annual O’Reilly Boise Roadster Show presented by Les Schwab Tires
Expo Idaho

Goldmark Award, Best Rod – Rich & Paige Udell, Swan Lake, Mont., `32 Ford roadster
The Wild One– Ron Vanee, Lethbridge, Alberta, `64 Corvette
Fire Rod – Arnie Miller, Junction City, Ore., `33 Ford coupe
Trendsetter– Gordon Phillips, Quesnel, B.C., `67 Shelby GT-500
Master Builder Award – Dave Kindig, Salt Lake City, Utah, `64 Cadillac convertible
Mighty Fine – John Coenen, Tacoma, Wash., `37 Ford sedan
Essence of Cool – Ron Maxwell, Parowan, Utah, `64 Nova
Tompkins Award – Ron Nichols, Nampa, `34 Ford coupe
Best Bike – Craig Whalen, Meridian, `12 Pro Street
Best Restored – Mac Bernd, Arlington, Tex., `69 Camaro
Best Truck – Robert Komlofske, Prineville, Ore., `53 Chevy pickup
Best Rod – Rich & Paige Udell, Swan Lake, Mont., `32 Ford roadster
People's Choice – Gordon Phillips, Quesnel, B.C., `67 Shelby GT-500
Best Club Display – No Limit Classics