The 46th edition of the Firebird Award’s Banquet officially brought the 2013 NHRA Drag Racing Season to a close on Saturday night, November 23rd. Held in the Ballroom of The Riverside Hotel in Boise, the Banquet featured an evening packed with awards, which included upwards of $15,000 in cash and prizes.

The evening included all the presentations in the Boise Muffler Gold Cup Championships. Our appreciation goes out to every presenting company, manhy of which included: Rod Page (Boise Muffler); Rayce & Marissa Kidd (Kidd Performance & Dyno); Matt Compton (Performance Solutions); David Wood (Woody's Outdoor Power); Rex Petersen (Fairly Reliable Bob's); Glenn Watts (Capitol City Transmission) and Rich Pedraza (Rich's Auto Care & Dyno). All of the top finishers were recognized along racers in the United Dairymen of Idaho/CWI High School & Alumni Championships, Junior Dragster chase, Lyle Pearson Acura Sport Compact Series, Carl’s Cycle Sales Street Bike, Moffitt & Bratton Outlaw Street program, Lyle Pearson Acura Sport Compact series, and other points chases during the evening.

Track champions who accepted year-end awards included: Chris Jaggers-Super Pro; Randy Williamson-Pro; Tyler Rush-Sportsman; Scott Grondahl-Sled/Bike; Dustin Smith-High School; Michael Jaggers-Junior; Mike Ritz-Outlaw Street; David Meimann-Alumni; Stephanie Meimann-Sport Compact; David Kletzien-Street Bike; Ashton Davis-Street Truck. Carl Youngstrom-Nostalgia, and Glen Phillips-Super Shifter, also earned track titles.

Voted on by his piers, Randy Williamson was awarded Bracket Racer of the Year. Williamson also won the Pro Track Championship. Sweeping honors for "Lady Driver of the Year" was Judy Radford.

One of the other highlights of the evening was the 27th presentation of the Racemaster award. Long standing engine builder Mike Montgomery was acknowledged for this very special Firebird Hall of Fame type award. Montgomery first started racing at Firebird in the late-60’s and has be actively involved as both a racer, car owner and builder in the sport of drag racing for several decades now.

2013 Boise Muffler Gold Cup Championship Series
(pictured above)

Kidd Performance Super Pro: Chris Jaggers
Performance Solutions Pro: Randy Williamson
United Oil Sportsman: Tyler Rush
Woody’s Sled/Bike: Scott Grondahl
Junior Dragster: Michael Jaggers
United Dairymen/CWI High School Teams: Middleton High (AAA) and Renaissance High (AA)
High School – Individual: Dustin Smith, Middleton High
Alumni: David Meimann
Lyle Pearson Acura Sport Compact: Stephanie Meimann
Carl’s Cycle Sales Street Bike: David Kletzien
Moffitt & Bratton Outlaw Street: Mike Ritz
Street Truck: Ashton Davis
Capitol City Transmission Nostalgia: Carl Youngstrom
Rich’s Auto Care & Dyno Super Shifter: Glen Phillips

Fairly Reliable Bob’s Club Champions:

Melba Outlaws (Silver Cup)

Flyin’ Brick (Bronze Cup)

Modern Rodders (Copper Cup)

2013 Year-end special awards

Perfect Light Club Treasure Chest (drawing) – Rayce Kidd

Rising Star—Maggie Watts

Top Rookie—Rachel Rush

Best Appearing Race Car—Sharlene Lancaster

Outstanding Perseverance—Tim Shawver

Good “Guy” 2013-Andy Strunk

Outstanding Crew—Cutler & Rush Family Racing

Most Improved Driver—Chad Campbell

Team Member of the Year—Andy Varin

Lady Driver of the Year—Judy Radford

Bracket Racer of the Year—Randy Williamson

Racemaster—Mike Montgomery

Images provided by Alex Charlton and Gary Himes